[ 3 / a / adv / an / asp / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / g / gd / int / jp / k / lit / m / mlp / mu / n / o / out / p / po / sci / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / v / vg / vp / vr / w / wsg / x]

/3/ - 3DCG - ANOTHER ONE OF THESE THREADS!!!!!!111

<< back to board
[Delete this thread]

File: 3082197914_6146b34604_m.jpg-(83 KB, 213x240)
ANOTHER ONE OF THESE...
ANOTHER ONE OF THESE THREADS!!!!!!111 Anonymous 02/21/14(Fri)04:18 UTC+1 No.410936 Report

Sup, t/3/apots?

I want to make some crappy little 3D movies with crappy little low-poly characters and enivornments.

I'm a hobbyist. I don't ever want to get a job in video games or movies or design or art. I have no industry ambitions whatsoever. This is strictly for small scale personal projects.

Which 3D package would you recommend for someone like me?

Money's no object, because I don't intend to actually pay for any software, so go crazy but remember that I have no dreams of working for Pixar or Blizzard.
>>
Anonymous 02/21/14(Fri)04:40 UTC+1 No.410937 Report

Just get blender or maya. You'll find the most resources for those two as their so widely used.

Good luck with your hobby!
>>
Anonymous 02/21/14(Fri)06:55 UTC+1 No.410951 Report

Daz Studio and Wings 3D would be a good start. Not just because they're free (which isn't an issue if you're pirating as you said) but because they are very simple. They'll serve to introduce you to all the basic concepts of 3D art. Once you've grown with them you can decide whether you want to stay at that level or move up to a more professional package like Maya.
>>
Anonymous 02/21/14(Fri)09:00 UTC+1 No.410961 Report

Blender:
>It is free
>Has all the functions you need
>Almost
>Is going to become more and more a Maya clone

Maya:
>Pirated, it's free
>Has all the functions you
>Plugins can be pirated as well
>It's going to stay on top for a while and lead the market
>>
Anonymous 02/21/14(Fri)11:50 UTC+1 No.410969 Report

>>410961
>Becoming a Maya clone
Dear god I hope not.
>>