[ 3 / a / adv / an / asp / cgl / ck / co / diy / fa / g / gd / int / jp / k / lit / m / mlp / mu / n / o / out / p / po / sci / sp / tg / toy / trv / tv / v / vg / vp / vr / w / wsg / x]

/3/ - 3DCG

<< back to board
[Delete this thread]

File: blender-textures.png-(159 KB, 863x494)
Hi. I'm an eternal...
Anonymous 02/22/14(Sat)20:45 UTC+1 No.411178 Report

Hi. I'm an eternal beginner. I'm grappling with Blender.
Searching for answers on the web only makes me run in circles.
And the official Blender documentation is unhelpful too.
My nerves run out.

1. DISPLAY MODE. When I set the 3D View display mode to "Texture", only image-based textures become visible. Procedural textures such as "Clouds" only get visible in "Render" display mode. WHO IS WRONG: ME OR BLENDER?

2. BUMP MAPPING. I want to use a texture (procedural "Clouds") as a bump/normal/displacement map, rather than a colour map. BUT IT'S IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND RELEVANT BLENDER SETTINGS! (Unless someone has already found them, of course.)

3. BAKING NORMALS. I have created two cubes. Both are identical, except one has some sculpted detail on it. Both are UV-unwrapped. I set "Render ? Bake mode ? Normals". I set "Render ? Bake ? Selected to active". I activate the detailed cube; then I activate the plain cube. Then I click "Bake". A texture gets generated. AND IT'S FLAT! Uniform blue picture. No bumps. Baking isn't working, and I don't know why, and I don't know what to type into Google to fix this.

Learning things alone is stupid.
Whoever invented the saying "RTFM" was a certified autist.
Time to ask 4chan.
>>
Anonymous 02/22/14(Sat)21:02 UTC+1 No.411179 Report

>1.
That's because they are generated at rendertime.

>2.
The texture setting is the Normal option under Geometry.

>3.
Change the Normal Space in the bake settings. Make sure to use these settings in th texture settings when you actually use the normal map, also activate Normal Map in the Image Sampling section of the texture settings later.
>>